top of page
  • Writer's pictureMaria D.

Volunteering

Updated: Jul 5, 2019

I am passionate about helping others in any way that I can. I volunteer in anyway that I can, even if its for a day! I have volunteered at Relay for Life, MLK Day-of-service, numerous campus-wide leadership summits, and even in coastal cleanups.



I have no idea what inspired me to choose to help clean up the mangroves instead of the snorkeling clean up. I love to be in the water, but I guess I wanted to try something different and less wet. As soon as I got to the people's dock, I was so excited to see so many classmates that I felt a huge rush of energy through me and I was ready for anything¾or so I thought. As we all walk into this un-forsaken path, the first thing we're blinded by are these massively tall trees known as the Florida mangroves. The mangroves enthrall you into their home and make it hard for one to go. As we destroy web after web to get through, we finally come across our first piece of trash: a diaper. I was overly excited to pick up trash until I actually had to do it and it I guess I forgot how much I don’t care for the things I throw away because they are all useless! Furthermore, the deeper we got the more useless items we kept finding and the quieter we all became. It was sad to see all this trash we don’t care for anymore to be ruining this beautiful ecosystem. Every time I would pick up an item I would start to ponder and retrace its steps…did someone throw it out of their kayak…let it go out of the window of their car? So many different scenarios could have happened for the item to get where it was. We will never know how. We will never know when. We will never know who. We will never know a lot of things, but what we do know is that we all share this earth; and we all have to respect and cherish it, in order for it to do the same to us. I will definitely be back.






14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page