top of page
  • Writer's pictureMaria D.

Alternative Breaks



 

In August of 2016, I was accepted into the Alternative Breaks program at FIU as a Youth Development participant. I was selected to volunteer at Pendleton Place Children’s Shelter in Greenville, South Carolina for the Winter term. Alongside my team, we raised 5k to fund our Alternative Breaks trip in the Fall of 2016. At the end of our trip, we donated 1k of that to the organization. We helped wrap Christmas gifts for under families in need of holiday cheer and we also provided mentoring to young women. A year later I went on another Winter mission trip with the Alternative Breaks program at FIU. I was selected to participate as a Community Development volunteer for the Winter of 2017. I served at the Boys & Girls Club in New Orleans, Louisiana. We primarily worked with a mission group called United Saints Recovery Project. Me and my team helped create a teaching kitchen and laundry unit for under privilege kids. This project was designed and intended to provide the kids of Southeast Louisiana with lasting skills that can help them create their own resilient and independent future. At the end of the year, we won the Community Partner of the Year award for 2017-2018 at the Center for Leadership and Service Banquet.

15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page